Lena River BARGE Russia PART 2

The remaining 4 days were lovely and gorgeous.. I really enjoyed this wonderful break on the barge.. It was a nice easy going journey compared to the rugged, rigid shaking about on the bike.  For the most part uneventful, so I will just fill the rest of this blog up with photos..  Hope you enjoy.. I had mentioned on facebook and not able to express in a picture the smell of Siberian summer on a barge.  The abundant pine trees, and fresh cold flowing water… especially at dawn and dusk .. wish I could bottle that smell and take it home with me!  I will always remember it though.

Fog every morning, moon every night – Siberian Magic!

This guy was such a character!  And he loves having his photo taken!
                                            Sunset and moonrise…together

Still my only wildlife spotted so far.. horses again, but still happy to see them!

Logging industry, I have since found out is owned by the Chinese…

They ask if I have children.. I say “Niyet”.. They ask if I would like to have Russian baby?  “Niyet Spasiba”.. my clue to keep wandering the barge…

There’s the port coming up – Ust Kut!

Walter tells me it’s the first bridge crossing in over 3700 km of river!  I love all the facts and figures I get from my Siberian Encyclopedia traveling mate. 
We get ready to charge off the boat – one very stir crazy Mr. Colebatch wants to ride!

Enhanced by Zemanta
About kangamerican

Originally from America. Proud citizen of Australia. Currently riding my motorcycle around the world. 44 countries so far and counting. ;-) View all posts by kangamerican

Leave a Reply

